Photo of Joshua Bell
OBC Season



  • Dates 14, 15 and 16 December 2018
  • Ticket prices 10€/33€/43€/58€
  • Hall Hall 1 Pau Casals
  • Cycle OBC Season

Joshua Bell returns to L’Auditori, this time with one of the great Romantic concertos, Dvořák’s concerto for violin. Like Brahms' violin concerto, this is a demanding piece to take on, its difficulty and symphonic treatment taking it beyond virtuosity.
Concert included in the OBC Season and in Sampler Sèries

Now in the 21st century, there is no doubt that this is a “complete concerto”, one of the great challenges for modern violinists. The composer worked on the piece with the finest violinist of the time, Joseph Joachim, but after four years of editing, Dvořák decided to premiere it with a different soloist. Shostakovich’s tenth symphony became a symbol of the new road taken by Russia after the death of Stalin. Premiered shortly after the dictator's death, despite Shostakovich’s claim that he only wanted to express “the feelings and passions of being human”, it was received by audiences as a critique of Stalinist oppression. This is a striking work from the composer's later period, and one which is also considered to contain a biographical element.

RODRÍGUEZ VALENZUELA: Even Night. World premiere . Commissioned by the Fundación SGAE, AEOS and the Barcelona Symphony Orchestra.
DVOŘÁK: Violin Concerto in A minor Op. 53
SHOSTAKOVICH: Symphony No. 10

Orquestra Simfònica de Barcelona i Nacional de Catalunya (OBC)
Kazushi Ono, conductor
Joshua Bell, violin

Related concerts

We use cookies to improve your user experience. If you continue browsing, we consider you accept its use. You can get more information here