Symphonic Season 19-20


Stefan Vladar on piano

  • Dates 3, 4 and 5 October 2019
  • Ticket prices €12 / €34 / €44 / €59
  • Hall Hall 1 Pau Casals
  • Cycle Symphonic Season 19-20

Two major works from the European repertoire written by two composers with a significant presence in the OBC season - Brahms and Bartók - come together in the same programme, in addition to Ancient Airs and Danses.

The ballet The Miraculous Mandarin caused a huge scandal when it premiered in Cologne in 1926, but Bartok's music continued to be played in the concert halls, as had Stravinsky’s Rite of Spring a few years earlier. At the age of 25, Brahms began composing his first concerto for piano and orchestra. He created a passionate and emotional work, full of gratitude to the Schumann family, who welcomed him into their home, and bursting with virtuosity, as one would expect from a such a highly talented young man.

BRAHMS: Concerto for piano and orchestra No. 1 in D minor, Op. 15
RESPIGHI: Ancient Airs and Danses
BARTÓK: The Miraculous Mandarin, Op. 19 Suite

Barcelona Symphony and National Orchestra of Catalonia (OBC)
Kazushi Ono, conductor
Stefan Vladar, piano

Related concerts

We use cookies to improve your user experience. If you continue browsing, we consider you accept its use. You can get more information here